About our awards

2016-17 has been a great year for the School, so please join us in the celebration of all of our hard work as we recognize several outstanding faculty, staff and students in a variety of award categories listed below.

Outstanding students are selected based on a variety of criteria such as GPA, research, and service to the School, depending on the department.

Staff awardees are nominated by faculty and staff from the school, and the recipients are selected by the previous year's winners. The criteria for selecting outstanding staff are not limited to, but include attitude, performance, contribution, and initiative.

Faculty awardees are nominated by their departmental chair and are selected by the previous year's winners. Faculty awards are separated into five categories:

RESEARCH EXCELLENCE, SENIOR LEVEL is awarded to a full professor or 6 or more years at UNM in a tenure-track position.

RESEARCH EXCELLENCE, JUNIOR LEVEL is awarded to an associate professor or lower in grade and no more than 6 years at UNM in a tenure-track position.

TEACHING EXCELLENCE, SENIOR LEVEL is awarded to a full professor or 6 or more years at UNM in a tenure-track position.

TEACHING EXCELLENCE, JUNIOR LEVEL is awarded to an associate professor or lower in grade (including Instructor) and no more than 6 years at UNM in a tenure track position.

Join us Friday, May 5 at 11:30 a.m. in the Centennial Courtyard for our annual Spring Appreciation Luncheon!

Faculty Awards



Junior Faculty
Teaching Excellence
Vanessa Valentin
Civil Engineering



Senior Faculty
Teaching Excellence
Ganesh Balakrishnan
Electrical and
Computer Engineering



Junior Faculty
Research Excellence
José Cerrato
Civil Engineering



Junior Faculty
Teaching Excellence
Asal Naseri
Mechanical Engineering



Senior Faculty
Research Excellence
Edl Schamiloglu
Electrical and
Computer Engineering

Kyle Beenhouwer

Computer Science

Staff Awards



Reiner Martens
Electrical and
Computer
Engineering



Marcus Panozzo
Civil Engineering

2017

School of Engineering

ANNUAL AWARDS CEREMONY



May 4, 2017

Centennial Engineering Center Auditorium
3:30 p.m. • 5 p.m. reception, Stamm Commons
The University of New Mexico

Computer Science



Sophomore **Anna Carey**



Outstanding Junior Sahba Tashakkori



Outstanding Senior **David Ringo**



Outstanding Sophomore Esmeralda Arreguin-Martinez



Chemical & Biological Engineering

Outstanding Junior Maria Kelly



Outstanding Senior Bram R. Hunt



Outstanding Junior **Nicholas Torres**

Mechanical Engineering



Outstanding Senior Terese Martinez



Outstanding Graduate Student

Amanda Minnich

Civil Engineering



Outstanding Sophomore **Cody Powell**



Outstanding Junior Claudia Jimenez Arellano



Outstanding Senior Jared Romero



Outstanding Gradaute Student Omar K. Abudayyeh



MEP Outstanding

Leadership Josefine D. McBrayer

Electrical & Computer Engineering



Outstanding Sophomore **Kevin Barnette**



Outstanding Junior Benjamin Reichelt



Outstanding Senior Christopher Zapotocky

Nuclear Engineering



Outstanding

Sophomore

Daniel Davis

Outstanding

Graduate Student

Isaac Klickstein

Outstanding Sophomore Benjamin R. Murphy



Outstanding Junior Carly Romnes



Outstanding Senior Colin Weaver



Outstanding Graduate Student Amirhosein Jafari



Outstanding Graduate Student Wenjing Liu



Outstanding Graduate Student Jedediah Styron